Joining the world of Twitter Chats!

Here's a screenshot of my #PRStudChat!

On November 16, I decided it was time to explore what everyone was talking about when it came to Twitter chats. Being a public relations student at the University of South Florida, I thought the #PRStudChat would be the best fit for me.  The chat is mostly for PR students to interact with PR professionals and help them learn more about the industry as well as connect with respected professionals in the field.

I enjoyed participating in the chat. I felt like there were a large amount of people tweeting and that is a major player in keeping the conversation going. It was great to be able to talk to not only students who are in the same position as I am, but also to professionals who have already been through school and are working in the field. Those PR professionals can pass down tips and bits of information that might help me later in my career.

During the chat I participated in, there was a lot of discussion on social media: how to monitor social media, who should be using it to represent a company, how to use it to interact with consumers, etc. Social media is growing so rapidly that soon, if not already, it will be the major focus of the public relations industry. Because of this, it is important that we who are studying to be a part of that industry understand how to use it, monitor it, and even control it.

I enjoyed my experience on the #PRStudChat overall. It was an exciting way to learn a lot about the field I am working towards as well as get in touch with those who are already there. I will try my best to make it to more #PRStudChats as much as possible!

Leave a Reply

